01
Jul
12

The “Me” post

Here are some compositions and performances of which I’m rather proud:

The above is a chorale-prelude on Londonderry Air, in the style of J. S. Bach.  The occasion was a half-day marathon of recitals, organized by Michael Barone, honoring Bach’s 327th birthday (March 21st, 2012).  The actual date of the recitals was March 17th – St. Patrick’s Day.  So there you go.

I’m particularly proud of the coherent harmonic plan: the major structural cadences are on I, V, vi, iii, and I.  It is a little unusual that V is not reasserted before the final appearance of I, but the tune is such that moving directly from iii to I made sense.  I also attempted to satisfy the desire for V by writing an extended pedal 6-4.  I think it was successful.  Bach’s architecture is always solid. Bach never meanders.

I’m also proud of the careful and deliberate use of chromaticism and dissonance.  This is an important element in Bach’s style.  Bach constantly uses “colorful” or even “audacious” pitches, but not without proper justification; not without an organic raison d’etre.  Listen especially for the two instances of properly executed diminished octaves (!).

I’ll add more compositions later.


3 Responses to “The “Me” post”


  1. 1 annalisa
    July 5, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Awesome, the music is great….can the angle of the camera be any better next time?

  2. 2 Simeon Blatchley
    October 21, 2012 at 1:16 am

    I concur! Ever thought of applying to play with the Kings College [Cambridge] choir?

    • October 21, 2012 at 3:22 am

      Thanks.

      I try to catch the Nine Lessons and Carols every year, unless I’m too busy with my own Xmas eve preparations. But it’s broadcast in the morning over here in Murica, so I usually can.


Leave a comment


July 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031